today in class i had a special ed student whom i’ve known for three years ask me if i had looked at some roller skating/dancing videos she had told me about. she had given them to me after seeing the “derby chick” necklace my cooperating teacher gave me. the one i wear every time i sub because it gives me a sense of confidence and lets me feel like i’m  channeling  my cooperating teacher.  i apologized to this student and told her that my life had kind of been a mess and i hadn’t done it yet, even though i had promised i would before i saw her again.

she then gave me a smiley face sticker and asked me if there was anything she could help me with. so i told that an aunt i am very close to passed away not long ago and just hours before i heard that her boyfriend, whom we all love, had joined her last night.

the student said she understood and had felt like that before and that when it happens, she just thinks that it will happen to all of us one day. and that thought makes her feel better.  she then asked me if that made me feel any better. she said she wanted to say something that helped me.

and experiences like this is just one of the reasons i really love what i do.

and know what i am going to do right now? i am going to go watch some roller skating/dancing vidoes.

 

r.i.p. we will miss you but are very happy you can be together now as you should be.

 

Leave a Reply

